Quick Reviews > Epic

Epic – What a fantastic movie. The theme of this story is no different than its comparable 90s animated forest-survival-flick “Fern Gully:The Last Rainforest.” Now, i grew up watching Fern Gully and i must say, yes the theme is very similar but the storyline is a bit different and the animation itself is something you need to see to believe. Talk about perfection – all the expressions and the detail, the design…it was all so flawless! This movie had a pretty big cast too – Amanda Seyfriend (remember her from Mean Girls? She also starred in Les Miserables, Mamma Mia!, Dear John.), Josh Hutcherson (Hunger Games, Bridge to Terabithia, The Kids Are Alright), Colin Farrell, Beyonce Knowles, Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained, Inglorious Bastards, Water for Elephants) , Aziz Ansari, Pitbull, Steven Tyler (of Aerosmith), Jason Sudeikis, Chris O’Dowd (Bridesmaids, GIRLS)…

epic cast

For me, I’m always excited when a story has a female protagonist. While there were male characters with a story to be told, I was interested in MK’s journey most. My imagination wants to follow the woman’s perspective I suppose and to picture my animated self in her shoes.

I’m always trying to see animated films in theaters as I feel they are deserving a big screen movie watching experience. What else has Blue Sky produced? Ice Age: Continental Drift, , Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs, Horton Hears A Who! All 4 of these movies were highly entertaining and beautifully made. I think Blue Sky has outdone themselves with this movie, really. I believe this is THEIR epic film and for me it surpassed many films from other animation studios – here’s a short list of recent animated films I think weren’t as impressive as Epic.

Disney Pixar’s Brave though beautifully made, i felt the story didn’t really stand above any other movie with a struggle between parent and child and we already saw enough bear possession in Disney’s Brother Bear…and next we’ll have Monster’s University..I have mixed feelings about a sequel/prequel to Monster’s Inc  and i don’t think the story needed to be touched again…work on something new and fresh, not Finding Dory!…but i’ll probably love em both…we’ll have to wait and see..

Walt Disney Animated Studios – Wreck-It Ralph  was a beautifully made film, but a let down in the end I thought…i wouldn’t rush out to buy it and add it to my collection. In fact, aside from Tangled (which is one of my all-time favorite Disney movies), The Princess & The Frog and Bolt were also somewhat disappointing movies. The style of Disney is my favorite but their movies haven’t really captivated me since 1994’s The Lion King…

What about  Sony Pictures Animation? – Well, I have yet to see Hotel Transylvania, and i refuse to watch The Smurfs. Not only do i dislike the character design, but i feel The Smurfs is a boring, old-fashioned cartoon show that isn’t deserving of being featured on the silver screen. I’m sorry, i know that’s harsh, but i think it’s really stupid to bring back The Smurfs. In fact, who thought “Oh yeah, let’s make a Smurfs movie, people LOVE The Smurfs!” They’re not relevant at all…Watch, they’ll do a live-action Snorks next…well, after Smurfs 2 they’ll start writing a script). BUT, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs was a fantastic film – the design was so different and the movie was just so fun!

Meanwhile, these films (below) by some of those same studios has really impressed me:

Disney Pixar’s most recent films in particular > Toy Story 3 (and 2 and 1), Up, Wall-E was very good, and Ratatouille – one of my absolute favorites, was so fantastic but underrated, i think…

Dreamworks – The Croods was good, i didn’t hate Nike Cage in this one, and Kung Fu Panda 2 – i could watch this movie everyday, it’s so damn entertaining.

I think I would have rather seen Epic in 2D over the 3D version. I find my eyes can’t seem to focus on the picture right and my eyebrows begin to sweat a bit. Also, the colors are not as vibrant and I want to see a big animated picture like this with the most contrast possible.

Epic had me laughing quite a bit, and I even cried a tear or two! I was sucked into the adventure pretty quickly thanks to excellent writing, acting, design and storyline. Who doesn’t want to move faster than humanly possible, defy gravity without injury…I wish I could ride a hummingbird! I can’t wait to see it again!

Posted on June 2, 2013, in Natalie's Blogs, Quick Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

